House Passes $1 Billion in Iron Dome Funding

The House of Representatives passed a standalone bill allocating $1 billion in Iron Dome funding on September 23.

The final vote was 420 in favor and 9 against, with two members voting present. Those who voted no included Representatives Ilhan Omar (D-MN), Rashida Tlaib (D-MI), Andre Carson (D-IN) and Thomas Massie (R-KY). Representatives Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) and Hank Johnson (D-GA) voted present. Jewish Insider Capitol Hill Reporter Marc Rod tweeted that after her vote, Ocasio-Cortez appeared “to be crying on the House floor, in a hug with Rep. Primila Jayapal.”

Israeli Ambassador to the United States and United Nations Gilad Erdan thanked House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-NY), Representative Rose DeLauro (D-CT) and others for voting “in favor of supporting Israel’s security & our strong alliance. The overwhelming bipartisan support of the Iron Dome legislation sends a clear message that America stands w/ Israel on fighting terror.”

Read More: Jewish Journal